Volunteers Leading The Way


Volunteer-Driven ~ Thank YouUnited Way of St. Clair County (UWSCC) is a volunteer-driven organization dedicated to providing health and human services to the residents of the community.  Our over 290 volunteers are responsible for:

  • Setting the direction of the organization
  • Making decisions based on the mission and vision of the organization
  • Hiring the Executive Director
  • Approving the budget
  • Oversight
  • Determining what community needs will be addressed through program funding
  • Raising funds annually
  • Approving or denying Affiliated Organization applications
  • Allocating annual Campaign funds to approved Affiliated Organization programs
  • Quarterly review of funded programs
  • Advocating on behalf of the organization, including workplace presentations

Get Involved


While there are 1,078 United Ways throughout the United States and many others worldwide, each United Way is autonomous.  They are managed, governed, and maintained as their own business by their own volunteers.  UWSCC is governed by an Executive Committee and Board of Directors.  It is a corporation as defined in Michigan Non-Profit Corporation Act, 162 of 1982, and classified by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) as a 501(c)(3) organization.  The IRS has also classified UWSCC as a public charity under sections 509(a)(1) and 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) of the Internal Revenue Code.
UWSCC is a volunteer organization dedicated to providing essential health and human services to the residents of the community.  It is driven by an annual Campaign which mobilizes community volunteers to actively solicit funds.  The Campaign is coordinated by an appointed Campaign Chair and supported by a small professional staff.
The members, officers, directors, committee members, employees, and persons served by this corporation shall be selected entirely on a nondiscriminatory basis with respect to age, sex, race, religious affiliation, and national origin.
All funds donated to UWSCC are directed through an all-volunteer Board of Directors and fund distribution committee (Citizens Review Committee).  UWSCC maintains an audit trail; contracting independent accounting firms to maintain the integrity of the organization through an overall annual audit of its financial statements.

Board of Directors Executive Committee:

Danny Negin
Farm Bureau Insurance
Vice President
Thelma Castillo
Blue Water Area Chamber of Commerce
Caryn VanderHeuvel
St. Clair County Probate Court
Patti Manley
McBride - Manley & Company, P.C.
Vice Treasurer
Steve Warsinske
Citizen's Review Committee Chair
Cindy Rourke
2020 Campaign Leader
Marc Simone
SEMCO Energy
Human Resource Chair
Leann Warner
DTE Energy (St. Clair)
Labor Representative
Richard Cummings


Danielle Brunk
Meijer, Inc.

Stacey Cutler

Northstar Bank
Honorable Daniel A. Damman
31st Circuit Court
Colleen DeLong
Fifth Third Bank
Karry Hepting, CPA
St. Clair County Administrator / Controller
Elia Hussain
Vinculum Care
Mat King
St. Clair County Sheriff's Office
Jose Kottoor
Lake Huron Medical Center
Dr. Annette Mercatante
St. Clair County Health Department
Michelle Shepley
TCF Bank
Dr. John Brooks
McLaren Port Huron
Jessie Wilson
UAW 375 Member, FCA